• Thursday, June 08, 2023

Star Wars Announces 4 New High Republic Books

Star Wars Announces 4 New High Republic Books
on Apr 13, 2021
Star Wars Announces 4 New High Republic Books
Star Wars has announced four new books for their High Republic line. The High Republic was first announced in 2019 and the first book, Light of the Jedi by Charles Soule, was published on January 5, 2021, and became a New York Times Best Seller. The book led to a multi-part story that spanned multiple books and comics. The story takes place 200 years before the events of The Phantom Menace and is kicked off by The Great Disaster, where a ship is destroyed while traveling through hyperspace and the debris threatens to destroy an entire planet. The series highlights the expansion of the Republic into the Outer Rim territories with the Jedi in their prime and the emergence of a new threat, a set of space Vikings called The Nihil. Since Light of the Jedi, the series has published three novels: Into the DarkA Test of Courage, and The Great Jedi Rescue. According to Slashfilm, new details have been given about the release dates on the next wave of Star Wars novels set during The High Republic. Dubbed Wave II, the flagship novel, The Rising Storm by Cavan Scott, is a sequel to Light of the Jedi and will hit shelves on June 29, 2021. Race to Crashpoint Tower, a middle-grade novel by Daniel José Older and artist Petur Antonsson, will also arrive on June 29. Out of the Shadows by Justina Ireland, a young-adult novel, will be out on July 22. Lastly, Showdown at the Fair, an 8x8 storybook by George Mann, focuses on the Wookie Jedi Burryaga Agaburry, and will hit bookstores on October 5, 2021.
The next wave of stories will be building off the previous line and start to feature various characters from other books interacting. Out of the Shadows will be a crossover story between the character, Vernestra Rwoh, who was introduced in Justina' Ireland's book, Test of Courage, and Reath Silas from the novel Into the Dark. With the news that the upcoming series, The Acolyte, will take place at the end of The High Republic Era, there is a chance that characters or plotlines introduced in these stories will make their way into that story. Currently, the only Star Wars productions currently set to air in 2021 are Star Wars: The Bad Batch, premiering on May 4, and The Book of Boba Fett, which is set to air in December 2021. Since the launch in the first week of January, The High Republic makes up a majority of the Star Wars material for fans to enjoy this year before the slew of upcoming programming coming to Disney+ in 2022. Much like The Clone WarsRebels, the prequel trilogy, and the sequel trilogy, The High Republic books have been the entry point for new fans into a galaxy far far away. Source:  https://screenrant.com/

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    Sorry! No comment found for this post.