• Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Frontlist | Priya Sharma and Indrapramit Das win Shirley Jackson Awards for 2019

Frontlist | Priya Sharma and Indrapramit Das win Shirley Jackson Awards for 2019
on Jul 18, 2020
Frontlist | Priya Sharma and Indrapramit Das win Shirley Jackson Awards for 2019
Priya Sharma and Indrapramit Das both win Shirley Jackson Award for 2019. The Shirley Jackson Awards are book awards for stories that must contain elements of psychological suspense, horror, or dark fantasy. They are named after an American writer, who is famous for her horror and mystery books. They have categories for stories of different lengths and compilations- Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.
Priya Sharma won for 'Ormeshadow' a novella about the life Gideon Belman who was from a farming family with a rich history. She said, Ormeshadow has been with me for the last ten years in one form or another, so my thanks to Ellen Datlow and Tor.com Publishing taking it. It was inspired by the Great Orme, a limestone headland in Llandudno, North Wales, UK, and by the work of Thomas Hardy. Family is a theme that I return to again and again, because family is the start of all our stories, be it in their absence or presence, their love and cruelty, their well-meaning mistakes and the intentional unkindnesses. Family make us and break us. Ormeshadow is a story about exactly that, as reported by her publishers Tor.com. Sharma lives in the UK and is a known writer, her work is a part of many anthologies. She has also won the British Fantasy Award and was a Locus Award finalist. Indrapramit Das won the Shirley Jackson award for short fiction(7,499 words or less) for his story “Kali_Na,” Set in India, the story is about Artificial Intelligence and draws from Indian mythology to produce a fascinating tale. Das lives in Kolkata and is a writer and editor. His writing has been published in many anthologies and his novel 'The Devourers' won the Lambda Literary Award for Best LGBQT SF/F/Horror. It was also placed on the 2017 Honor List for the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, and shortlisted for the Crawford Award, the Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize, and the Tata Live! Literature First Book Award. The winners for the other categories of the award are: NOVEL: 'The Book of X' by Sarah Rose Etter NOVELETTE: 'Luminous Body' by Brooke Warra SINGLE-AUTHOR COLLECTION: 'Song for the Unraveling of the World' by Brian Evenson EDITED ANTHOLOGY: 'The Twisted Book of Shadows' edited by Christopher Golden & James A. Moore Source: Times Of India

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    Sorry! No comment found for this post.