• Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Australian Book Design Awards 2021 Winners Announced

Australian Book Design Awards 2021 Winners Announced
on Jun 25, 2021
Australian Book Design Awards 2021 Winners Announced

The winners of the 2021 Australian Book Design Awards, presented by the Australian Book Designers Association (ABDA), have been announced.

Chosen from shortlists announced in April, the winners in each category are: Best Designed Commercial Fiction Cover All Our Shimmering Skies (Trent Dalton, Fourth Estate) designed by Darren Holt Best Designed Literary Fiction Cover
  • Body of Water (Beverley Farmer, Giramondo) designed by Jenny Grigg
Best Designed Autobiography/Biography/Memoir Nonfiction Cover
  • Plastic Free (Rebecca Prince-Ruiz & Joanna Atherfold Finn, NewSouth) designed by Josh Durham, Design by Committee
Best Designed Nonfiction Book
  • Building a Culture (Leon van Schaik, Uro Publications) designed by Stuart Geddes
Best Designed Series
  • Take Away series (Somekind Press) designed by Vaughan Mossop and George Saad
Best Designed Independent Book
  • Signature (Paul Carter, Lyon Housemuseum) designed by Sean Hogan
Best Designed Fully Illustrated Book Under $50
  • Planet City (Liam Young, Uro Publications) designed by Stuart Geddes and Žiga Testen
Best Designed Fully Illustrated Book Over $50
  • NGV Triennial 2020 (National Gallery of Victoria) designed by Dirk Hiscock
Best Designed Cookbook (joint winners)
  • Bell Primary Family Cookbook (Bell Primary School) designed by Stuart Geddes & Žiga Testen
  • Comida Mexicana (Rosa Cienfuegos, Smith Street Books) designed by Evi O, Evi O Studio
Best Designed Student Cover
  • If We Were Villains (ML Rio), designed by Finn Redmond
Best Designed Student Series
  • Conversation with ArtistsDesigning as Visual Organisation and Material as Metaphor designed by Kespa Katsuk
Best Designed Children’s Illustrated Book
  • This Small Blue Dot (Zeno Sworder, Thames & Hudson) designed by Zeno Sworder
Best Designed Children’s Nonfiction Illustrated Book
  • Busy Beaks (Sarah Allen, Affirm Press) designed by Kirby Armstrong
Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book
  • We Are Wolves (Katrina Nannestad, ABC Books) designed by Hazel Lam
Best Designed Young Adult Cover
  • Loner (Georgina Young, Text) designed by Imogen Stubbs
Best Designed Children’s/Young Adult Series
  • Sophie Beer series (Sophie Beer, Little Hare) designed by Pooja Desai
Emerging Designer of the Year
  • Mika Tabata.
The winners were announced in an online event on Thursday, June 24.
  Source - BooksAndPublishing

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    Sorry! No comment found for this post.