• Friday, May 24, 2024

At Write India 2.0 Finale, a New Book

At Write India 2.0 Finale, a New Book
on Oct 23, 2019
At Write India 2.0 Finale, a New Book
The grand finale of Write India Season 2 concluded with the launch of a short stories book, a compilation with works by more than 100 contributors. Anand Neelakantan, Ruskin Bond, Sudha Murthy, Shobhaa De, Nikita Singh, Twinkle Khanna, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, Namita Gokhale, Manu Joseph, and Sir Jeffrey Archer had joined hands with TOI for this season. The top 10 winners were felicitated by Joseph, Amish and Neelakantan. One of the winning stories was also enacted by actors from Akshara Theatre. Congratulating the winners, Amish quipped that India has more writers now than readers. Joseph revealed that he had banned participants writing to him from using the exclamation mark and the word ‘suddenly’. Anand Neelakantan congratulated the winners, saying that penning short stories is the toughest art and that there are no rules in the world of writing. The ten winners were Apoorva Anubhuti, Janaki R, Kritika Singh, Dr Roshan Radhakrishnan, Harshali Singh, Aashisha Chakraborty, Anu Palani, Pranshoe Pandey, Sangeeta Sharma and Tino de Sa. Write India 2 is the country’s largest writing platform, conceptualised and launched in 2015. Between the two seasons, the portal received an astonishing 50,000 stories across various genres including thrillers, romance, mythology, and tragedy. Surprisingly, the highest participation came from students and IT professionals, while more women participated than men.

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    Sorry! No comment found for this post.